Real Life Reads: Yorkshire Tots to Teens – days out & activities founder

Days Out, Family
No Comments

People are often surprised to find the the person running a site called Yorkshire Tots to Teens is American.

Yorkshire Tots to Teens’ Erin EK Rush said: “I am actually from Montana in the US. I grew up on my grandpa’s cattle ranch until I was about 10 when we moved to a bigger town about an hour away.

“I worked as a teacher at International schools before I moved here so I have lived in Mexico, Venezuela and Turkey.”

And now founder Erin finds herself living between Bradford and Leeds, West Yorkshire.

Real Life Reads profiles interesting people and their life stories… Let’s get to know a bit more about Erin…

Where do you live & who with?

I live with my six-year-old daughter, four-year-old son and Yorkshireman husband as well as two cats that we adopted on Bonfire night last year, Pepper and Ginger.  

What do you love?

I love my family (of course) and I love to plan things!  I love a bit of novelty in my life; It doesn’t have to be something that’s exciting to anyone else necessarily.  That is partly what I love about blogging; You never know what it’s going to bring.  I also love to sing, read, and drink coffee!

What does your daily life look like?  

Right now I am juggling a lot of things.  I work as a  part-time Spanish teacher, work on the blog, Yorkshire Tots to Teens, and do social media management for other companies.  My son is in afternoon nursery at school so I also do the school run three times a day.  It keeps me busy!

What inspires you to keep going?

Most of the time I really enjoy the things I do, but there are definitely times when I get burnt out or frustrated.  I think having good friends to talk to (or vent to), getting out for a walk or run, or sometimes just taking a break helps recharge my batteries.

What is your greatest passion?

I’m not sure I have one single passion but maybe it’s just to keep looking at life as an adventure and to never stop learning, growing, and trying new things.

What are you up to at the moment?

As a family we’ve just gotten into camping.  It’s been great fun so far but also a learning curve (mostly for the grown-ups, I think all kids are natural campers!)

Personally I am working on setting up a social media management company when my son goes to school full time.  I already do some freelance work but I am looking to set up the business properly.  I really enjoy social media and I am looking forward to helping other businesses tell their stories online.  I am also looking to make some exciting changes to Yorkshire Tots to Teen then too.  

What are your dreams?

Ohh.. I found this question difficult.  I think for the most part (although I am known to have a good moan) I am pretty happy with life right now.  When I moved to Yorkshire seven years ago I didn’t know anyone aside from my husband and was pregnant with my first baby.  It took a lot of effort, but I’ve met some really good friends and feel really settled here now.  My kids are at a fun stage in life too.  I suppose the next hurdle is setting up a steady business where I am working more ‘normal hours’ and not cramming everything into every spare chunk of time I can find.

How can people find out more/get in touch?

[email protected]


Would you or someone you know like to share their amazing life story with us? Please comment below or message us at 

real life reads Mama Mei

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Fill out this field
Fill out this field
Please enter a valid email address.
You need to agree with the terms to proceed

Share this blog post on Social Media!